Skip to content ↓

Davington Primary School

Faversham, Kent

Governing Body Structure and Remit

Full Governing Body

The Governing Body consists of 9 members as follows:

  •  1 Head Teacher
  •  2 Parent Governors
  •  1 LA Governor
  •  1 Staff Governor
  •  4 Co-opted Governors

The Chair of the full Governing Body is Joanne Billingham.


The purpose of the Board of Governors is to provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for the educational and financial performance of the school. The Governing Body meets once a term.

The Department of Education has a Governance Handbook which sets out the 3 core functions of the Governing Body are:

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.